Poem For You

I am not your immigrant father
I am myself, my own
I do not fear the eyes of the city
I am the city
My breath is the Earth’s soul on a warm day
My laughter is like the sweet cry of gulls off shore
I do not fear what your father did
He carried the entire weight of a people on his slender shoulders
Poured his spirit into the water glasses of ungrateful patrons
Who may have judged
And certainly miss-judged him
I have never met your father
He died before we came to be
But I do know him
I see his fear in your eyes
His pain in your desperate pleas
His words of discouragement in your lost dreams
I am not your immigrant father
I am myself, my own
Why are you unable to see
That you are also not him?

Copyright2017caceresbg

Leave a Reply

